First MGP result

August 29, 2012
Photo courtesy Dave Kneen

Castletown’s Chris Palmer, an adopted Manxman, won his third Manx Grand Prix title with victory in today’s 350cc Classic Grand Prix Race. It was a welcome return to the top spot for the man who had finished second in all three of his races at the Manx last year. Tamworth based Peter Symes took the honours in the 250cc race that ran concurrently.

Palmer’s lead was over a minute at the end of the second lap but he was having clutch problems and needed to nurse the machine through the last lap to take the win in 1:08.43.56 ((98.818mph), with Swallow (1:09.18.17 – 97.996) in second, for his first MGP podium, and Moore in third (1:10.25.52 – 96.434)

In the 250cc race, Peter Symes dominated, winning with a time of  (1:14.18.55 – 91.394) from Dave Edwards (1:18.21.04 – 86.680) with Geoff Bates (1:21.05.33 – 83.753) taking the final podium place.

Share this article